THIS IS WHY I’VE COME


Mark – The Facts.

Have you stopped in the busyness of work to notice and to think about why you do what you do no matter what your job or vocation happens to be at the moment? Do you observe others who work with you and wonder if they know why they work at the same place you do? Is it for the paycheck? Is it working and clawing to get ahead in the world by jockeying to get to the top job in the company? Is it to gain recognition? Is it for self fulfillment? Is it for the fuzzy, feel good feelings it gives you? Or is there something else? Is there something higher and greater that causes you to get up early, have a conversation with the God of all, and then work hard, with enthusiasm to be a difference to someone else, no matter what your job is?

I am stopped in my reading to hear Jesus say, “THIS is why I’ve come.” He knew His mission well. He came for a very specific purpose…so that we might be saved and brought back to God. Yes, He healed the sick, blind, lame and even lepers as in our story today, but he came to seek and to save lost people, in and out of the “church”.

How did He stay so focused? “While it was still night, way before dawn, he got up and went out to a secluded spot and prayed.” What? The Son of God, King of kings and Lord of lords, felt the strong desire to keep in touch with God, the Father? Then why don’t we? Are we above this act constant communication and communion with God?

If we don’t know why we do what we are doing right now, then a little knee time with God might be the answer for us. The Holy Spirit is in us just waiting to guide, heal, restore, transform and lead us to the “why”. Abundant living comes by knowing the “why”. Peace and joy grows when we know the “why”. Knowing the “why” gets us through the tough stuff of life here.

Mark 1, The Message
35-37 While it was still night, way before dawn, he got up and went out to a secluded spot and prayed. Simon and those with him went looking for him. They found him and said, “Everybody’s looking for you.”

38-39 Jesus said, “Let’s go to the rest of the villages so I can preach there also. This is why I’ve come.” He went to their meeting places all through Galilee, preaching and throwing out the demons.

40 A leper came to him, begging on his knees, “If you want to, you can cleanse me.”

41-45 Deeply moved, Jesus put out his hand, touched him, and said, “I want to. Be clean.” Then and there the leprosy was gone, his skin smooth and healthy. Jesus dismissed him with strict orders: “Say nothing to anyone. Take the offering for cleansing that Moses prescribed and present yourself to the priest. This will validate your healing to the people.” But as soon as the man was out of earshot, he told everyone he met what had happened, spreading the news all over town. So Jesus kept to out-of-the-way places, no longer able to move freely in and out of the city. But people found him, and came from all over.

Mark 1 prayer

Think it over…
–In His growing popularity, because of His many acts of mercy, Jesus could have been swayed and drawn from the mission. Do we do that?
–Time alone with the Father and Creator of all is time well spent.
–Jesus said many times, “I don’t speak on my own authority. The Father who sent me has commanded me what to say and how to say it.” (John 12:49) This knowledge comes from alone time with God.
–If you need help with the why you do what you do, then seek the Father’s help. His Holy Spirit will guide you.
–No matter what job/vocation you are doing right now, “Work willingly at whatever you do, as though you were working for the Lord rather than for people. Remember that the Lord will give you an inheritance as your reward, and that the Master you are serving is Christ.” Colossians 3:23-24, NLT
–Jesus was and is “deeply moved” by our circumstances. He will see us through them all.

Thank you, Lord, for this message of “why” and the knowledge that you are with us in our work. Guide our every thought and action today. Keep us focused on You. Show us your will for us and ways to accomplish it all day long. In Jesus Name, Amen

I love the song by Hillary Scott, “Thy Will”…

I know you’re good
But this don’t feel good right now
And I know you think
Of things I could never think about
It’s hard to count it all joy
Distracted by the noise
Just trying to make sense
Of all your promises
Sometimes I gotta stop
Remember that you’re God
And I am not
So

Thy will be done
Thy will be done
Thy will be done
Like a child on my knees all that comes to me is
Thy will be done
Thy will be done
Thy will

I know you see me
I know you hear me, Lord
Your plans are for me
Goodness you have in store
I know you hear me
I know you see me, Lord
Your plans are for me
Good news you have in store

So, thy will be done
Thy will be done
Thy will be done
Like a child on my knees all that comes to me is
Thy will be done
Thy will be done
Thy will be done
I know you see me
I know you hear me, Lord

Songwriters
BERNIE HERMS, HILLARY SCOTT, EMILY LYNN WEISBAND

About randscallawayffm

Randy and Susan co founded Finding Focus Ministries in 2006. Their goal as former full time pastors, is to serve and provide spiritual encouragement and focus to those on the "front lines" of ministry. Extensive experience being on both sides of ministry, paid and volunteer, on the mission fields of other countries as well as the United States, helps them bring a different perspective to those who need it most. Need a lift? Call us 260 229 2276.
This entry was posted in Blessings, Christian Living, Christian Perspective, Embrace, Encouragement, Faith, Forgiveness, Grace, heaven, Holy Spirit, Hope, insight, Jesus, joy, Listen, Love, marriage, Mercy, ministry, Praise, Prayer, Salvation, Searching, Teaching, Thanksgiving, Training, Transformation, trust in God, Truth, Uncategorized, Unconditional love, waiting on God, wisdom and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

