IT’S NOT A GOOD THING…

Matthew – Fulfilled.

There are times in our lives when life throws us a curve right in the middle of a project that you think is going well. You are trying to do all the right, good things as you are work toward that wonderful goal of completion. Then you wonder what happened when the details began to unravel. Our way of life reflects who we are and what we think. The way we behave in crisis, hurt and disillusionment reflects our hearts’ motivations. We cry out to God, “I thought I was doing good, Lord…what happened?”

Jesus reshuffles the deck of worldly thinking and deals out some hard truth to a young man who did every good thing as a check list of life, but missed the point of following Jesus and trusting God. He amassed his wealth on his own and decided he would be a worthy candidate to be a disciple of Jesus Christ. Jesus began to unravel this young man’s worldly thinking by sharing some shocking news, God is God and the only One who is good…and you are not! This wealthy, young man learned that what matters to God is a heart that follows Him, not the good things you perform to get points with God. When will we learn that God sees our hearts? He knows, before we realize, what our true motivations are. That’s why this truth of “where your heart is” to the young man devastated him.

Matthew 19, The Message
To Enter God’s Kingdom
16 Another day, a man stopped Jesus and asked, “Teacher, what good thing must I do to get eternal life?”

17 Jesus said, “Why do you question me about what’s good? God is the One who is good. If you want to enter the life of God, just do what he tells you.”

18-19 The man asked, “What in particular?”

Jesus said, “Don’t murder, don’t commit adultery, don’t steal, don’t lie, honor your father and mother, and love your neighbor as you do yourself.”

20 The young man said, “I’ve done all that. What’s left?”

21 “If you want to give it all you’ve got,” Jesus replied, “go sell your possessions; give everything to the poor. All your wealth will then be in heaven. Then come follow me.”

22 That was the last thing the young man expected to hear. And so, crestfallen, he walked away. He was holding on tight to a lot of things, and he couldn’t bear to let go.

23-24 As he watched him go, Jesus told his disciples, “Do you have any idea how difficult it is for the rich to enter God’s kingdom? Let me tell you, it’s easier to gallop a camel through a needle’s eye than for the rich to enter God’s kingdom.”

25 The disciples were staggered. “Then who has any chance at all?”

26 Jesus looked hard at them and said, “No chance at all if you think you can pull it off yourself. Every chance in the world if you trust God to do it.”

27 Then Peter chimed in, “We left everything and followed you. What do we get out of it?”

28-30 Jesus replied, “Yes, you have followed me. In the re-creation of the world, when the Son of Man will rule gloriously, you who have followed me will also rule, starting with the twelve tribes of Israel. And not only you, but anyone who sacrifices home, family, fields—whatever—because of me will get it all back a hundred times over, not to mention the considerable bonus of eternal life. This is the Great Reversal: many of the first ending up last, and the last first.”

matthew 19 letting go

It is good to pause and ask ourselves,
–Am I doing what God tells me or going my own way?
–Has rule following taken over my thought life or relationship building with my Savior and Lord?
–Am I willing to give it all to follow Christ?
–Can I lay down everything that gets in the way of doing what God tells me to do?
–Who do I trust most? Or what thing do I trust?

It’s not a good thing that we do, it’s who we are in Christ Jesus our Lord. Really seeing Jesus, knowing, following Him as Lord and trusting that He can do anything causes everything else in this life to dissipate, becoming like a very temporary fog being burned off by the mid morning sun.

Dear Heavenly Father, I repent of going my own way at times and failing to trust in You. Help me to move to the rhythm and flow of your mercy and grace. I cannot pull off life by myself. I am nothing without You. Make Your desires be my desires.
In Jesus Name, Amen

Mm, praise God! It’s not up to me…and I’m singing…
Turn your eyes upon Jesus
Look full in His wonderful face
And the things of life will grow strangely dim
In the Light of His Glory and Grace…

About randscallawayffm

Randy and Susan co founded Finding Focus Ministries in 2006. Their goal as former full time pastors, is to serve and provide spiritual encouragement and focus to those on the "front lines" of ministry. Extensive experience being on both sides of ministry, paid and volunteer, on the mission fields of other countries as well as the United States, helps them bring a different perspective to those who need it most. Need a lift? Call us 260 229 2276.
This entry was posted in Blessings, Christian Living, Christian Perspective, Embrace, Encouragement, Faith, Forgiveness, Grace, heaven, Holy Spirit, Hope, insight, Jesus, joy, Listen, Love, Mercy, ministry, Praise, Prayer, Salvation, Teaching, Thanksgiving, Training, Transformation, trust in God, Truth, Uncategorized, Unconditional love, wisdom and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

