BY HIMSELF

Matthew – Fulfilled.

Here I am in the early morning, before getting ready to go teach with others at my job, to be by myself. I cherish this time. Sometimes I drag myself to this desk with a cup of my beige coffee (still learning to drink this eye opener) and cup of cheerios to have breakfast, alone, with God, Jesus, and the Holy Spirit.

Sometimes I practically run, in tears, to this time to pour out my fears and anxiety about the journey. Sometimes I come confused. Sometimes I come to celebrate. But I come alone to speak with the Three-in-One about all the details of my life and my family. Okay, so I am not really alone. It is here I gain His strength and power to work another day, to love and extend mercy, to learn and grow and to just be with the One who knows me best.

A familiar episode of Jesus and Peter is preceded by a paragraph, before the walking on water miracle of trust, that stops me cold this morning It stops me to wonder what our Lord prayed when He got alone by himself to be with God, His Father.

Matthew 14, The Message
22-23 As soon as the meal was finished, he insisted that the disciples get in the boat and go on ahead to the other side while he dismissed the people. With the crowd dispersed, he climbed the mountain so he could be by himself and pray. He stayed there alone, late into the night.

Matthew 14 by himself to pray

Think about it…
–After the miracle feeding the five thousand plus men, women and children, he sent his helpers away, climbed a mountain…to BE by himself with God.
–What did He pray? For whom did He pray? Did He pray for Peter? Did He pray for the other disciples by name? Did He pray for peace? Or did He just listen? Did He pray for the people in the crowd he just fed with loaves and fish? The humaness of Jesus needed to be along with the Father who sent Him. We have this same need!
–We know from God’s Word that He did this often.
–It seems before and after anything monumental in Jesus ministry, He prayed…by Himself.
–The Gospel of John relates, “I don’t speak on my own authority. The Father who sent me has commanded me what to say and how to say it.” Mm, God is where Jesus gets His marching orders, strength and power for each word and deed.
–Where does our strength and power come from if we don’t get alone and ask for it?

I know that I am compelled to come to God each morning, in Jesus Name, because of the strength I need to do what pleases God. God delights in every detail of our lives. I thank God for that. It is amazing to see how God works in my day after asking Him to be in every detail. I praise God for this precious morning time of being, just being with Him…by myself. Jesus, I get it!

Dear Heavenly Father,
Thank you. May Your Holy Spirit fill in the rest of my words and thoughts to You as praise and thanksgiving for that is what is in my heart in such a profound way, I don’t have human words that are good enough to express it. Go with us this day…again.
In Jesus Name, Amen

About randscallawayffm

Randy and Susan co founded Finding Focus Ministries in 2006. Their goal as former full time pastors, is to serve and provide spiritual encouragement and focus to those on the "front lines" of ministry. Extensive experience being on both sides of ministry, paid and volunteer, on the mission fields of other countries as well as the United States, helps them bring a different perspective to those who need it most. Need a lift? Call us 260 229 2276.
This entry was posted in Blessings, Christian Living, Christian Perspective, Embrace, Encouragement, Faith, Grace, heaven, Holy Spirit, Hope, hospitality, hugs, insight, Jesus, joy, Listen, Love, Macedonian Call, Mercy, ministry, Praise, Prayer, Salvation, Searching, Teaching, Thanksgiving, Training, Transformation, trust in God, Truth, Uncategorized, Unconditional love, waiting on God, wisdom and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

