FORGET YOURSELF, FIND YOURSELF!

Matthew 10 – Fulfilled

I admit that I get very weary at times when working hard to achieve certain goals. But if God has asked me to do it, provides for it to be done, I know He will be my strength to see it accomplished. There is a difference in being tried OF the work and being tired IN the work. I love what He gives me to do so I will be more the person He taught me to be. This attitude keeps my perspective firmly grounded in Him. I am not tired of the work He has given me.

God WILL challenge us so we can grow beyond where we are now to where He wants us to be. Jesus told his followers, “Don’t think I’ve come to make life cozy.” In hard times, relationships will be tested. If we look to Him first, lose what we think and accept what He taught us, then Jesus will stand with us. What better friend than to have the Son of God stand with you. There is no bully in the world that can penetrate this intimate powerful relationship.

Matthew 10 finding Jesus

 

God KNOWS everything about us and still loves us. He says we are worth “more than a million canaries”. We are always looking for self-worth from others who are looking for their own self-worth. What an exercise in rediculousness! Look to Jesus Christ as Lord, forget about what others think, forget about yourself and what you think of yourself and you will find Jesus at the end of this thought-train!

“We are intimately linked in this harvest work,” says Jesus. He is in us and we in Him. Anyone who accepts what you do, accepts me, the One who sent you. Wow! We are NOT alone in the work to tell the Good News to others seeking to lose what they have by themselves to find everything God has to give for eternity!

Learn to give AND receive. The smallest act makes us true apprentices. We can’t lose! Start small in giving and keep giving and receiving until it is a habit, a part of us that we don’t have to think about…like walking or smiling, or reaching out arms to embrace.

The following passage is a way of life for followers of Jesus Christ…read it over a few times and then let’s think of things to forget about us so we can find ourselves deeply embedded with Christ.

“But if you forget about yourself and look to me, you’ll find both yourself and Me.” Yes!

Matthew 10, The Message
Forget About Yourself
29-31 “What’s the price of a pet canary? Some loose change, right? And God cares what happens to it even more than you do. He pays even greater attention to you, down to the last detail—even numbering the hairs on your head! So don’t be intimidated by all this bully talk. You’re worth more than a million canaries.

32-33 “Stand up for me against world opinion and I’ll stand up for you before my Father in heaven. If you turn tail and run, do you think I’ll cover for you?

34-37 “Don’t think I’ve come to make life cozy. I’ve come to cut—make a sharp knife-cut between son and father, daughter and mother, bride and mother-in-law—cut through these cozy domestic arrangements and free you for God. Well-meaning family members can be your worst enemies. If you prefer father or mother over me, you don’t deserve me. If you prefer son or daughter over me, you don’t deserve me.

38-39 “If you don’t go all the way with me, through thick and thin, you don’t deserve me. If your first concern is to look after yourself, you’ll never find yourself. But if you forget about yourself and look to me, you’ll find both yourself and me.

40-42 “We are intimately linked in this harvest work. Anyone who accepts what you do, accepts me, the One who sent you. Anyone who accepts what I do accepts my Father, who sent me. Accepting a messenger of God is as good as being God’s messenger. Accepting someone’s help is as good as giving someone help. This is a large work I’ve called you into, but don’t be overwhelmed by it. It’s best to start small. Give a cool cup of water to someone who is thirsty, for instance. The smallest act of giving or receiving makes you a true apprentice. You won’t lose out on a thing.”

Dear Heavenly Father, Thank you for loving us beyond our wildest dream. Thank you for saving us from ourselves.
In Jesus Name, Amen

About randscallawayffm

Randy and Susan co founded Finding Focus Ministries in 2006. Their goal as former full time pastors, is to serve and provide spiritual encouragement and focus to those on the "front lines" of ministry. Extensive experience being on both sides of ministry, paid and volunteer, on the mission fields of other countries as well as the United States, helps them bring a different perspective to those who need it most. Need a lift? Call us 260 229 2276.
This entry was posted in Blessings, Christian Living, Christian Perspective, Embrace, Encouragement, Faith, Grace, heaven, Holy Spirit, Hope, hospitality, hugs, insight, Jesus, joy, Listen, Love, Macedonian Call, marriage, ministry, Praise, Prayer, Salvation, Teaching, Thanksgiving, Training, Transformation, trust in God, Truth, Uncategorized, Unconditional love, waiting on God, wisdom and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

