CHURCH LEADERS MISS THE POINT

Matthew – Fulfilled

Sometimes church leaders can miserable miss the point while in the midst of MEnistry. MEnistry versus ministry is when we have a strong need to control, make all the rules, do or say anything to retain power. MEnistry leaders promote programs with a passion for bigger is better. MEinstry stems from the root of self promotion. MEinstry “reports” numbers, buildings built, and money saved. MEinstry is miserable because of the consistent need for approval and recognition from others. MEinstry misses the point when God steps in and shows real ministry in the healing of souls and bodies. MEinstry leaders are the first to criticize.

Matthew 9, The Message
1-3 Back in the boat, Jesus and the disciples recrossed the sea to Jesus’ hometown. They were hardly out of the boat when some men carried a paraplegic on a stretcher and set him down in front of them. Jesus, impressed by their bold belief, said to the paraplegic, “Cheer up, son. I forgive your sins.” Some religion scholars whispered, “Why, that’s blasphemy!”

4-8 Jesus knew what they were thinking, and said, “Why this gossipy whispering? Which do you think is simpler: to say, ‘I forgive your sins,’ or, ‘Get up and walk’? Well, just so it’s clear that I’m the Son of Man and authorized to do either, or both. . . .” At this he turned to the paraplegic and said, “Get up. Take your bed and go home.” And the man did it. The crowd was awestruck, amazed and pleased that God had authorized Jesus to work among them this way.

Matthew 9 authority of Jesus

What do we learn?
–BE the amazed crowd, not the critical church leader when Jesus does something incredible!
–Look for God first. Look for where He is working. Join Him there.
–Lay down gossip, criticisms and sarcastic words and look for God in every hymn, gossip song, chorus or testimony. Look for God in the words that are proclaimed by God’s speaker standing before us.
–Look for God at work in all the people around us.
–Lay down self. Ask God to speak to our hearts. Repent.
–Walk into Life with a new attitude and graciousness.
–Ask for the Holy Spirit’s help in the stewardship of our lives. He will help us transform to a people who will not miss the point.

I don’t want to miss out on what God is doing and praise Him, do you? I didn’t think so…Do we impress Jesus with OUR bold belief?

Dear Heavenly Father, Help us to focus and stay alert to Your power, Your work in and around us, and your salvation that comes to others in unique ways. Don’t let me miss what you are doing in my life and in the lives of others and give you praise!
In Jesus Name, Amen

And I’m singing…

Leaving this place getting ready to go
Gotta get moving cause there’s something I know
God’s got a plan, got a blessing in store
So put me in the middle of the will of the Lord

Having my fill of the pushing away
It was me who was running, it was Him who stayed
Now I want it bad and I know what this means
Lining up with him, sure don’t wanna miss a thing

Don’t wanna miss the joy, don’t wanna miss the peace
Don’t wanna miss the power, don’t wanna miss a thing
I’m gonna get while the gettin’s good
Follow His heart like I know I should
No I don’t want, don’t wanna miss a thing
No I don’t want, don’t wanna miss a thing

Setting my sights on the heavenly prize
Seeing my life through spiritual eyes
I’m breaking out of a worldly mode
Heading on down a less traveled road

I’ll walk through the fire just to see His face
Won’t trade my freedom for a temporal place
He may be moving in mysterious ways
But I’m moving with Him for the rest of my days

Don’t wanna miss the joy, don’t wanna miss the peace
Don’t wanna miss the power, don’t wanna miss a thing
I’m gonna get while the gettin’s good
Follow His heart like I know I should
No I don’t want, don’t wanna miss a thing
No I don’t want, don’t wanna miss a thing

Don’t want to miss the mark (no no no)
Don’t want to go astray
Don’t want to waste the chance
Don’t want to lose the way

Don’t wanna miss the joy, don’t wanna miss the peace
Don’t wanna miss the power, don’t wanna miss a thing
Well, I’m gonna get while the gettin’s good
Follow His heart like I know I should
No I don’t want, don’t wanna miss a thing
No I don’t want, don’t wanna miss a thing
No No No, I don’t want, don’t wanna miss a thing
No No, I don’t want….don’t want to miss a thing

I do not want to miss a single thing

(By the Martins)

About randscallawayffm

Randy and Susan co founded Finding Focus Ministries in 2006. Their goal as former full time pastors, is to serve and provide spiritual encouragement and focus to those on the "front lines" of ministry. Extensive experience being on both sides of ministry, paid and volunteer, on the mission fields of other countries as well as the United States, helps them bring a different perspective to those who need it most. Need a lift? Call us 260 229 2276.
This entry was posted in Blessings, Christian Living, Christian Perspective, Embrace, Encouragement, Faith, Grace, heaven, Holy Spirit, Hope, insight, Jesus, joy, Leadership, Listen, Love, marriage, ministry, Praise, Prayer, Salvation, Teaching, Thanksgiving, Training, Transformation, trust in God, Truth, Uncategorized, Unconditional love, waiting on God, wisdom and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

