TEACHABLE MOMENTS

 

Matthew – Fulfilled

Good teachers grab moments in time, when students are primed to listen to applicable truth, connecting the situation at hand to their life. Great teachers have lesson plans, but if something happens that will help “the class” understand more because of how life is touching them at the moment, you depart from the plan immediately while you have their full attention because of the situation and give it all you have in you. It’s happened to me many times. I surprise myself, sometimes, because of what God teaches me…in the moment.

Jesus is approached by an “outsider” who comes to Him with full assurance that Jesus can heal his servant. Jesus is so impressed with this outsider’s faith in Him, that he uses the moment to tell the following crowd of onlookers, the insiders, about who will invited to the ultimate banquet of God. My dad used to say, “I think we will be surprised at who we will see and who we won’t see in heaven someday.” I am sure my dad is there now. Dad is probably not worrying about who is there, but rejoicing in the fact that he kept the faith. Faith…the bottom line.

Matthew 8 faith

Matthew 8, The Message
5-6 As Jesus entered the village of Capernaum, a Roman captain came up in a panic and said, “Master, my servant is sick. He can’t walk. He’s in terrible pain.”

7 Jesus said, “I’ll come and heal him.”

8-9 “Oh, no,” said the captain. “I don’t want to put you to all that trouble. Just give the order and my servant will be fine. I’m a man who takes orders and gives orders. I tell one soldier, ‘Go,’ and he goes; to another, ‘Come,’ and he comes; to my slave, ‘Do this,’ and he does it.”

10-12 Taken aback, Jesus said, “I’ve yet to come across this kind of simple trust in Israel, the very people who are supposed to know all about God and how he works. This man is the vanguard of many outsiders who will soon be coming from all directions—streaming in from the east, pouring in from the west, sitting down at God’s kingdom banquet alongside Abraham, Isaac, and Jacob. Then those who grew up ‘in the faith’ but had no faith will find themselves out in the cold, outsiders to grace and wondering what happened.”

13 Then Jesus turned to the captain and said, “Go. What you believed could happen has happened.” At that moment his servant became well.

Who do we put all our faith in and who is our “go to” when panic, fear and anxiousness tries to overwhelm us? Stop, think, take all the time you need. I am.

Dear Heavenly Father,
When roadblocks are thrown into our path, we look to You. When illness stops us, we turn to You. When a plan goes sour, we ask you to help us. When failure to achieve stops us, we ask for your help to learn from it and move on with your guidance. My faith in you is how life works for me. Lord, when I falter in my faith, lift my eyes to look full into your face. Teach me in those moments for it is then that I learn the most from you. But be gentle…as I know you will. In Jesus Name, Amen

About randscallawayffm

Randy and Susan co founded Finding Focus Ministries in 2006. Their goal as former full time pastors, is to serve and provide spiritual encouragement and focus to those on the "front lines" of ministry. Extensive experience being on both sides of ministry, paid and volunteer, on the mission fields of other countries as well as the United States, helps them bring a different perspective to those who need it most. Need a lift? Call us 260 229 2276.
This entry was posted in Blessings, Christian Living, Christian Perspective, Embrace, Encouragement, Faith, Grace, heaven, Holy Spirit, Hope, insight, Jesus, joy, Leadership, Listen, Love, ministry, Praise, Prayer, Salvation, Searching, Teaching, Thanksgiving, Training, Transformation, trust in God, Truth, Uncategorized, Unconditional love, waiting on God, wisdom and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

