HE CAME DOWN

Matthew – Fulfilled

Mountaintop experiences are wonderfully exhilarating.  I remember a time when I was given an opportunity to speak to officials of a church denomination.  It was my first time to do this kind of teaching.  I fell to my knees and asked God to give me his words as his servant and spokesperson.  I was to open this session of what would be a series of meetings and training about the renewal of God’s church.  It went well.  People understood God’s Word with me and were encouraged.  After speaking, then the work to DO came next.  The work before us was hard, but necessary.   We cannot just talk about ministry but not live it.  We are all ministers for and with each other as we love God and love others.  Jesus shows us by coming down to live on earth.

Matthew 8, The Message

1-2 Jesus came down the mountain with the cheers of the crowd still ringing in his ears. Then a leper appeared and went to his knees before Jesus, praying, “Master, if you want to, you can heal my body.”

3-4 Jesus reached out and touched him, saying, “I want to. Be clean.” Then and there, all signs of the leprosy were gone. Jesus said, “Don’t talk about this all over town. Just quietly present your healed body to the priest, along with the appropriate expressions of thanks to God. Your cleansed and grateful life, not your words, will bear witness to what I have done.”

Matthew 8 Jesus heals the leper

 

Read this passage several times and let what is happening sink in.  Jesus didn’t stay on the mountain to hear the applause of the crowd.  He CAME DOWN the mountain to seek and to save, to heal and to restore…prophesy fulfilled…DOING the work that our Father sent him to DO.  He taught the crowd what it takes to BE a child of God, then Jesus demonstrated what to DO, how to LIVE the Word of God.  Jesus CAME DOWN from his throne on heaven, from the cheering crowds there, from the comfort of his position on his throne, from the perfection of heaven to earth.  He CAME DOWN and lived among us to teach us that DOING (living it) will follow closely with BEING with the Father.  Be then do.

What do we learn?

–It would be great to just sit here in my quiet space and forget there is a world out there starving to know Jesus, to know that they are loved beyond their wildest dreams and can be saved and restored.

–It would be great to study God’s Word all day long and talk with Him and not leave my little room to go to a place with lots of kids whose eyes show anxiousness and need a caring adult to show them love and care.

–Our “cleansed and grateful lives, not our words, will bear witness to what God has done in us.” This is the key to our doing…our grateful lives leading others to Jesus.

–It would be great to stay here and not come down this mountain.  But it is time to get ready to go to work.  THIS is how we get ready.  BE with God, then DO what He invites you to do.  Take one day at a time.  That is what “daily manna” is all about.  BE then DO.

In Jesus Name, Amen

And I’m singing…

I love to sing and I love to pray
Worship the Lord most every day
I go to the temple and I just want to stay
To hide from the hustle of the world and its ways

And I’d love to live on a mountain top
Fellowshipping with the Lord
I’d love to stand on a mountain top
‘Cause I love to feel my spirit soar

But I’ve got to come down from that mountain top
To the people in the valley below
Or they’ll never know that they can go
To the mountain of the Lord

Now praising the Father is a good thing to do
To worship the trinity in spirit and truth
But if we worshiped all of the time
There would be no one to lead the blind

But I’d love to live on a mountain top
Fellowshipping with the Lord
I’d love to stand on a mountain top
‘Cause I love to feel my spirit soar

But I’ve got to come down from that mountain top
To the people in the valley below
Or they’ll never know that they can go
To the mountain of the Lord

Now I am not saying that worship is wrong
But worship is more than just singin’ a song
It’s all that you say and everything that you do
It’s letting his spirit live through you

Still I’d love to live on a mountain top
Fellowshipping with the Lord
I’d love to stand on a mountain top
‘Cause I love to feel my spirit soar

But I’ve got to come down from that mountain top
To the people in the valley below
Or they’ll never know that they can go
To the mountain of the Lord

 

About randscallawayffm

Randy and Susan co founded Finding Focus Ministries in 2006. Their goal as former full time pastors, is to serve and provide spiritual encouragement and focus to those on the "front lines" of ministry. Extensive experience being on both sides of ministry, paid and volunteer, on the mission fields of other countries as well as the United States, helps them bring a different perspective to those who need it most. Need a lift? Call us 260 229 2276.
This entry was posted in Christian Living, Christian Perspective, Embrace, Encouragement, Faith, Grace, Holy Spirit, Hope, insight, Jesus, joy, Leadership, Listen, Love, ministry, Praise, Prayer, Salvation, Teaching, Thanksgiving, Training, Transformation, trust in God, Truth, Uncategorized, waiting on God, wisdom and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

