BECAUSE I AM YOUR SERVANT

Psalms for the Journey

I have been in and out of self induced messes my whole life, but I always knew Who to run to for forgiveness first. I am grateful for knowing this, for being taught to stop and ask for forgiveness from our Father in Heaven. I have also run from problems but only for short periods of time to repent, focus and ask God to help me solve them. Why, because I am God servant.

I love God with all that is in me. Does loving Him make me perfect, without sin? Absolutely not. But, because of Jesus, He does make me perfectly forgiven. Will this stop me from messing up again? No, but it teaches me to to avoid falling into the same sins and to come to a halt in actions more quickly when tempted.

David felt he needed to confess sins that were keeping him from enjoying God’s help and blessing (vv. 1-2). He had concluded that the suffering he was experiencing from the attacks of the enemy were actually God’s chastening, so he asked God for mercy. It is true that the Lord can use painful circumstances and difficult people to bring us to repentance, but sometimes those very things are God’s “tools” to polish and mature us, not to punish us.

Psalm 143 has helped me through many troubling times. David presents many requests to the Lord, all of which may be summarized in two prayers: “Hear me” (vv. 1-6) and “Answer me” (vv. 7-12). This kind of praying is a good example for us to follow. The best part is the latter part that begins, “If you wake me each morning with the sound of your loving voice…” In the translation I grew up with says, “Let the morning bring me word of your unfailing love, for I have put my trust in you.” This is being God’s servant. Learning, growing, failing but learning, and always trusting.

Psalm 143, The Message
A David Psalm

1-2 Listen to this prayer of mine, God;
pay attention to what I’m asking.
Answer me—you’re famous for your answers!
Do what’s right for me.
But don’t, please don’t, haul me into court;
not a person alive would be acquitted there.

3-6 The enemy hunted me down;
he kicked me and stomped me within an inch of my life.
He put me in a black hole,
buried me like a corpse in that dungeon.
I sat there in despair, my spirit draining away,
my heart heavy, like lead.
I remembered the old days,
went over all you’ve done, pondered the ways you’ve worked,
Stretched out my hands to you,
as thirsty for you as a desert thirsty for rain.

7-10 Hurry with your answer, God!
I’m nearly at the end of my rope.
Don’t turn away; don’t ignore me!
That would be certain death.
If you wake me each morning with the sound of your loving voice,
I’ll go to sleep each night trusting in you.
Point out the road I must travel;
I’m all ears, all eyes before you.
Save me from my enemies, God—
you’re my only hope!
Teach me how to live to please you,
because you’re my God.
Lead me by your blessed Spirit
into cleared and level pastureland.

11-12 Keep up your reputation, God—give me life!
In your justice, get me out of this trouble!
In your great love, vanquish my enemies;
make a clean sweep of those who harass me.
And why? Because I’m your servant.

psalm-143-cup

Think about it…
We also want to hear God’s Word (v. 8). To see His smile and hear His voice gives us the strength we need to overcome the enemy. David moved from the darkness (v. 3) to the morning and the dawning of a new day. The Word reminded him of God’s unfailing love, and the Word strengthened his faith and gave him guidance on the dangerous path he had to take from the cave to the crown. “And why? Because I’m your servant.”, says David.

Dear Lord, “Keep up your reputation–give me life!” “And why” Because I’m your servant.
In Jesus Name, Amen

And I’m singing…(An old song my Larry Norman that was pivotal in my life…)
I am a servant, I am listening for my name
I sit here waiting, I’ve been looking at the game
That I’ve been playing, and I’ve been staying much the
Same
When you are lonely, you’re the only one to blame

I am a servant, I am waiting for the call
I’ve been unfaithful, so I sit here in the hall
How can you use me when I’ve never given all
How can you choose me when you know I’d quickly fall

So you feed my soul and you make me grow
And you let me know you love me
And I’m worthless now, but I’ve made a vow
I will humbly bow before thee
O please use me, I am lonely

AND He did…Because I am God’s servant.

About randscallawayffm

Randy and Susan co founded Finding Focus Ministries in 2006. Their goal as former full time pastors, is to serve and provide spiritual encouragement and focus to those on the "front lines" of ministry. Extensive experience being on both sides of ministry, paid and volunteer, on the mission fields of other countries as well as the United States, helps them bring a different perspective to those who need it most. Need a lift? Call us 260 229 2276.
This entry was posted in Christian Living, Christian Perspective, Embrace, Encouragement, Faith, Holy Spirit, Hope, insight, Jesus, joy, Leadership, Listen, Macedonian Call, marriage, ministry, Praise, Prayer, Psalms, Salvation, Teaching, Thanksgiving, Training, Transformation, trust in God, Truth, Uncategorized, Unconditional love, waiting on God, wisdom and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

