LEAD ME NOT…

Psalms for the Journey

I pray the Lord’s prayer that He taught to his disciples in a variety of ways, but with the same intent, every day. When it comes to the “lead me not” part, I always pause and think about what I am fighting against within myself, what is attacking me from the outside and need to avoid in my life. I am very specific, almost crying out for help to be lead far from evil’s schemes to bring me, my family, my faith and courage down to levels that hurt me. I am very honest when I add, “Lead us not into temptations, but DELIVER us from evil.” God answers that prayer as specifically as we pray it honestly and sincerely.

David is desperately praying his own “lead me not” prayer, asking for protection from his enemies and from his own temptation to speak evil or fall into “bad company”. His opening helps us feel and know David’s heart as he seems to shout, “God, come close. Come quickly!” Hello, God…it’s me! Help me! I have prayed that same prayer before and will probably pray it again and again because the enemy will always be hanging around those who love God and have a great desire to follow Jesus teachings about Him.

WE NEED TO KNOW…
–Know God. Know Jesus. Know the Holy Spirit. The three-in-One.
–Know our enemy and the schemes he uses over and over to trip us up.
–Know ourselves and our venerable areas. That’s where the enemy will continue to hit. “But greater is HE that is in us than he that is in the world.” –Jesus
–Know that we cannot fight the enemy by ourselves.
–Know God’s Message well and let us arm ourselves and watch God battle the enemy for us! There IS indeed victory in Jesus. He WILL deliver us and protect us from evil!

Psalm 141, The Message

1-2 God, come close. Come quickly!
Open your ears—it’s my voice you’re hearing!
Treat my prayer as sweet incense rising;
my raised hands are my evening prayers.

psalm-141

3-7 Post a guard at my mouth, God,
set a watch at the door of my lips.
Don’t let me so much as dream of evil
or thoughtlessly fall into bad company.
And these people who only do wrong—
don’t let them lure me with their sweet talk!
May the Just One set me straight,
may the Kind One correct me,
Don’t let sin anoint my head.
I’m praying hard against their evil ways!
Oh, let their leaders be pushed off a high rock cliff;
make them face the music.
Like a rock pulverized by a maul,
let their bones be scattered at the gates of hell.

8-10 But God, dear Lord,
I only have eyes for you.
Since I’ve run for dear life to you,
take good care of me.
Protect me from their evil scheming,
from all their demonic subterfuge.
Let the wicked fall flat on their faces,
while I walk off without a scratch.

In Jesus Name, Amen!

And I’m singing…

O victory in Jesus,
My Savior, forever.
He sought me and bought me
With His redeeming blood
He loved me ere I knew Him
And all my love is due Him,
He plunged me to victory,
Beneath the cleansing flood.

About randscallawayffm

Randy and Susan co founded Finding Focus Ministries in 2006. Their goal as former full time pastors, is to serve and provide spiritual encouragement and focus to those on the "front lines" of ministry. Extensive experience being on both sides of ministry, paid and volunteer, on the mission fields of other countries as well as the United States, helps them bring a different perspective to those who need it most. Need a lift? Call us 260 229 2276.
This entry was posted in Christian Living, Christian Perspective, Embrace, Encouragement, Faith, Holy Spirit, Hope, hugs, insight, Jesus, joy, Leadership, Listen, Macedonian Call, marriage, ministry, Praise, Prayer, Psalms, Salvation, Teaching, Thanksgiving, Training, Transformation, trust in God, Truth, Uncategorized, Unconditional love, waiting on God, wisdom and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

