OH, LET ME RISE AND LIVE WITH YOU!

Psalms for the Journey

There are two ways to think when rising for another day. “Good Lord, it’s morning”, with a groaning sigh, or “Good morning, Lord! What’s next?” I prefer the latter, because it gets me physically out of bed. I am grateful that God was with me (and you!) through the night and knows what is on our agenda for today.

David is asking God, “Oh let me rise and live always with you!” David has sinned, repented remorsefully and now is seeking God’s favor and presence in his life. He now clearly sees the enemies of God who lurk in the dark reeking havoc on others who believe in God. He wants God to take care of those enemies who are against our Creator. “I hate those who hate you, God”, David cries out. These are strong words, but I think David is reminding us to seek what God wants, who God is, and what is important to God and leave evil behind. He is praying for all of us to see life as God sees us in this life and make wiser choices and better decisions.

May we avoid the entanglement of sin that so easily draws us away from all that is good. May we pray for God to open our eyes so we see evil more clearly and run from it. May God live in us as we live for him so that we love more deeply, extend grace and walk humble with Him.

Yes, my song joins David’s..”Oh, let me rise in the morning and live always with you!”. Yes! and Amen!

Psalm 139, The Message (part 5)
Oh, let me rise in the morning and live always with you!
And please, God, do away with wickedness for good!
And you murderers—out of here!—
all the men and women who belittle you, God,
infatuated with cheap god-imitations.
See how I hate those who hate you, God,
see how I loathe all this godless arrogance;
I hate it with pure, unadulterated hatred.
Your enemies are my enemies!

psalm-139-18-still

 

I am reminded of an old hymn…Living for Jesus…as I meditate on this passage this morning…and I’m singing…

Living for Jesus, a life that is true,
Striving to please Him in all that I do;
Yielding allegiance, glad-hearted and free,
This is the pathway of blessing for me.

Refrain:
O Jesus, Lord and Savior, I give myself to Thee,
For Thou, in Thy atonement, didst give Thyself for me;
I own no other Master, my heart shall be Thy throne;
My life I give, henceforth to live, O Christ, for Thee alone.

Living for Jesus Who died in my place,
Bearing on Calvary my sin and disgrace;
Such love constrains me to answer His call,
Follow His leading and give Him my all.

About randscallawayffm

Randy and Susan co founded Finding Focus Ministries in 2006. Their goal as former full time pastors, is to serve and provide spiritual encouragement and focus to those on the "front lines" of ministry. Extensive experience being on both sides of ministry, paid and volunteer, on the mission fields of other countries as well as the United States, helps them bring a different perspective to those who need it most. Need a lift? Call us 260 229 2276.
This entry was posted in Christian Living, Christian Perspective, Embrace, Encouragement, Faith, heaven, Holy Spirit, Hope, hospitality, hugs, insight, Jesus, joy, Leadership, Listen, Macedonian Call, marriage, ministry, Praise, Prayer, Psalms, Salvation, Teaching, Thanksgiving, Training, Transformation, trust in God, Truth, Uncategorized, Unconditional love, waiting on God, wisdom and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to OH, LET ME RISE AND LIVE WITH YOU!

  1. Brenda Trumbull says:

    I just did this song at church a few weeks ago! Awesome encouragement! Thank you!

Leave a Reply

