CONTENTED GRACE

Psalms for the Journey

At this stage of my life this particular psalm causes my spirit to shout, “YES!” All my life, I have loved God. I have asked Him to lead me. I am fully content to be led by Him. As God knocks off the rough edges and teaches me through rough circumstances, He is merciful and kind because He loves me. When I step ahead or take a wrong turn on the journey because of my pride in myself alone, He pulls me back. God restores and redirects me with His grace. Then I am at peace and content again.

This is what “servant leadership is all about. It is not really seeking to lead. It is being led of God, dancing to the beat of His heart and the rhythm of His grace. It is saying yes, without hesitation. It is saying yes, not knowing the compensation or outcomes of the journey ahead. It is merely saying yes.

This psalm is David’s profession of humility, humbly made, with thankfulness to God for his grace, and not in vain-glory. Bible scholars think that David made this protestation in answer to the false accusations of Saul and his advisers, who represented David as an ambitious aspiring man, who, under pretense of a divine appointment, sought the kingdom, in the pride of his heart.

But David appeals to God. He tells God I am “my soul is baby content” which means David is malleable, governable and dependent on God. David was content to watch sheep and aimed at nothing high nor great. God put him in leadership. David did not aspire to lead but was tenacious at following God.

David encourages all good people to trust in God as he did. (v 3) Some objected to singing David’s psalms because there are many who cannot say, “My heart is not haughty,” etc. It is true, but we may sing it for the same purpose that we read it, to teach and admonish ourselves and one another. We remember what we ought to be, with repentance that we have come short of being so, and say a humble prayer to God for his grace to make us so.

It reminds us of Micah’s prophetic words of what God wants from us…”But he’s already made it plain how to live, what to do, what God is looking for in men and women. It’s quite simple: Do what is fair and just to your neighbor, be compassionate and loyal in your love, And don’t take yourself too seriously— take God seriously.” Micah 6:8, The Message. In our more familiar translations…”to walk humbly with God”. Grace has everything to do with walking with God. Say a faithful YES to God. You will never regret it!

psalm-131-2

 

Psalm 131, The Message

A Pilgrim Song

131 God, I’m not trying to rule the roost,
I don’t want to be king of the mountain.
I haven’t meddled where I have no business
or fantasized grandiose plans.

2 I’ve kept my feet on the ground,
I’ve cultivated a quiet heart.
Like a baby content in its mother’s arms,
my soul is a baby content.

3 Wait, Israel, for God. Wait with hope.
Hope now; hope always!

We pray this in Jesus Name, Amen

About randscallawayffm

Randy and Susan co founded Finding Focus Ministries in 2006. Their goal as former full time pastors, is to serve and provide spiritual encouragement and focus to those on the "front lines" of ministry. Extensive experience being on both sides of ministry, paid and volunteer, on the mission fields of other countries as well as the United States, helps them bring a different perspective to those who need it most. Need a lift? Call us 260 229 2276.
This entry was posted in Christian Living, Christian Perspective, Embrace, Encouragement, Faith, heaven, Holy Spirit, Hope, hospitality, hugs, insight, Jesus, joy, Leadership, Listen, Macedonian Call, marriage, ministry, Praise, Prayer, Psalms, Salvation, Teaching, Thanksgiving, Training, Transformation, trust in God, Truth, Uncategorized, Unconditional love, waiting on God, wisdom and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

