MY LIFE’S AN OPEN BOOK

Psalms of Honesty and Praise

I am reading a great book about the best practices and ways to write a children’s book. Yesterday’s lesson taught me to write in engaging ways to entice the reader to turn the page and keep turning the page until the end. This morning, I asked myself what is keeping me so engaged and enthralled with Psalm 119, the longest psalm ever? The topic is the same with each passage. God’s law is best for us and following what He says keeps us focused and in sync with Him.

We have spent days studying Psalm 119 together. (Many of you still read this blog, so that’s why I write as if you are sitting right here with me as we open God’s Word.) Then today, this thought came to me…it’s the personal relationship with the Author of this book that keeps me engaged, keeps me turning the page for more! He loves me and I love Him! His Words are forever and unchanging, yet His words give me a new thought each time I visit Him in His Word. It is as if HE is sitting with me as I read!

I am reminded today, “I follow your directions, abide by your counsel; my life’s an open book before you.” My life–an open book. He is reading ME while I read Him! What?! Yes! So what is turning the page in my “book” for God? I know He knows how my life will turn out because He knew me before I was born and knows me from the inside out. He knows my thoughts even before I have them. (Psalm 139) Maybe, I need to realize that He knows. Every. Thing. And loves me still!

Psalm 119:161-168, The Message

I’ve been slandered unmercifully by the politicians,
but my awe at your words keeps me stable.
I’m ecstatic over what you say,
like one who strikes it rich.
I hate lies—can’t stand them!—
but I love what you have revealed.
Seven times each day I stop and shout praises
for the way you keep everything running right.
For those who love what you reveal, everything fits—
no stumbling around in the dark for them.
I wait expectantly for your salvation;
God, I do what you tell me.
My soul guards and keeps all your instructions—
oh, how much I love them!
I follow your directions, abide by your counsel;
my life’s an open book before you.

coffee-and-bible

 

One more thought, when our “life book” takes a bad turn, when all seems against us, keep speaking His Truth in love. We know the Author. Stop and praise the Author and Finisher of our faith. Watch how He sets everything right. What how He works! God knows our hearts’ motivations and understands. As believers, God is for us.

Dear Heavenly Father, I cannot imagine how my life is a “page turner” for You, but yet I am…because You are the Author! I feel Your touch, Your Hand on my shoulder, as You keep writing and rewriting my book because of my own plot twists. Continue to guide, convict, comfort and direct my life…an open book..still to be completed.
In Jesus Name, Amen

About randscallawayffm

Randy and Susan co founded Finding Focus Ministries in 2006. Their goal as former full time pastors, is to serve and provide spiritual encouragement and focus to those on the "front lines" of ministry. Extensive experience being on both sides of ministry, paid and volunteer, on the mission fields of other countries as well as the United States, helps them bring a different perspective to those who need it most. Need a lift? Call us 260 229 2276.
This entry was posted in Christian Living, Christian Perspective, Embrace, Encouragement, Faith, heaven, Holy Spirit, Hope, hugs, insight, Jesus, joy, Leadership, Listen, Macedonian Call, marriage, ministry, Praise, Prayer, Psalms, Salvation, Teaching, Thanksgiving, Training, Transformation, trust in God, Truth, Uncategorized, Unconditional love, waiting on God and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

