THERE IS A QUIET PLACE!

Psalms of Honesty and Truth

Whew, what a whirlwind of traffic, crowds at stores, different schedules and no schedules. During the holiday season, the peace we preach about escapes us unless you know about the quiet place.
As I read this next passage of Psalm 119, a Hebrew primer of teaching the benefits of obeying God’s Word, I am reminded of an old, old chorus;

There is a quiet place
far from the rapid pace
where God can soothe my troubled mind.
Sheltered by tree and flower
there in my quiet hour with him
my cares are left behind.

Whether a garden small,
or on a mountain tall
new strength and courage there I find,
and then from that quiet place
I go prepared to face a new day
with love for all mankind.

Yes, in this very hour each morning, as I come to him with a big mug of coffee, I slowly wake to the peace, the contentment and joy I have in knowing Jesus. It is quiet. I only hear the clock ticking away the seconds and minutes of this precious time with God.

God goes to work on me as I open my heart, mind and soul to Him for at the beginning of this hour, I am weak. After a time of prayer, laying all the problems, challenges, people and thanksgiving at his feet, I open His Word. He renews my mind, helping me to think higher, more praise worthy, loving thoughts. He restores my physical strength and begins to prioritize my day. He reveals His Word to me, through His Holy Spirit, in ways that convict, comfort, teach, guide, solve, create, and challenge. God is ultimately revered. I sit in awe of Him. My own thoughts are lifted higher, out of the muck of the world’s teaching. My gratitude and praise for God increases exponentially. His love for me is assured. He gives us insight to see the difference between lies and His truth. His power living in me electrifies every created nerve ending. I’m now ready to face a new day! What about you?

coffee-and-bible

Psalm 119:113-120, The Message

I hate the two-faced,
but I love your clear-cut revelation.
You’re my place of quiet retreat;
I wait for your Word to renew me.

Get out of my life, evildoers,
so I can keep my God’s commands.
Take my side as you promised; I’ll live then for sure.
Don’t disappoint all my grand hopes.

Stick with me and I’ll be all right;
I’ll give total allegiance to your definitions of life.
Expose all who drift away from your sayings;
their casual idolatry is lethal.
You reject earth’s wicked as so much rubbish;
therefore I lovingly embrace everything you say.

I shiver in awe before you;
your decisions leave me speechless with reverence.

In Jesus Name, Amen! I believe. Speak, Lord, for your servant is listening…

About randscallawayffm

Randy and Susan co founded Finding Focus Ministries in 2006. Their goal as former full time pastors, is to serve and provide spiritual encouragement and focus to those on the "front lines" of ministry. Extensive experience being on both sides of ministry, paid and volunteer, on the mission fields of other countries as well as the United States, helps them bring a different perspective to those who need it most. Need a lift? Call us 260 229 2276.
This entry was posted in Christian Living, Christian Perspective, Embrace, Encouragement, Faith, Hebrews, Holy Spirit, Hope, hugs, insight, Jesus, joy, Leadership, Listen, Macedonian Call, marriage, ministry, Praise, Prayer, Psalms, Salvation, Teaching, Thanksgiving, Training, Transformation, trust in God, Truth, Uncategorized, Unconditional love, waiting on God, wisdom and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

