THE BIG REVEAL…2017!

Psalms of Honesty and Hope

It is the last day of 2016. People are flooding facebook with new goals and aspirations, (mostly quotes by other people they have reposted) for the New Year. It seems most of us are looking back over the last year with disdain, hoping for next year to be better. That’s sad. That’s missing the big reveal! Did we not learn anything? Did we not grow through trials? Where is our gratitude for God’s blessings of waking up each day of 2016 in His Presence with the incredible privilege of being able to talk and walk with our “God with us”, Emmanuel?

So, what will make next year, or even today better? Maybe we need to read God’s Big Reveal, one day at a time, one bite at a time. Ask God, who numbers the hairs on our head, who knows what will happen in ten minutes as well as in ten years with the blink of His eye to reveal His Word to us. Time is only man made to Him. God thinks in terms of forever. Here is a hint: God’s Word is, foremost about HIM and then His loving, die for us, relationship. We are second. Read it that way. Ask God to fine tune our listening for Him. We have one more day to think about the big reveal of God with us, for us and living in us. Just take today.

God’s big reveal, according the Psalmist is worthy to be “reverently pondered” all day long.

Psalm 119:97-104, The Message

Oh, how I love all you’ve revealed;
I reverently ponder it all the day long.
Your commands give me an edge on my enemies;
they never become obsolete.
I’ve even become smarter than my teachers
since I’ve pondered and absorbed your counsel.
I’ve become wiser than the wise old sages
simply by doing what you tell me.
I watch my step, avoiding the ditches and ruts of evil
so I can spend all my time keeping your Word.
I never make detours from the route you laid out;
you gave me such good directions.
Your words are so choice, so tasty;
I prefer them to the best home cooking.
With your instruction, I understand life;
that’s why I hate false propaganda.

psalm-119-bible-will-change-you

What do we learn?
–God is not keeping it a secret…He reveals all we need in His Word. Every. Day.
–God reveals ways to become wiser, smarter, able to handle the enemy more easily, with greater understanding for living the abundant life here in preparation for life forever there.
–God builds the road then directs us to move along avoiding evil’s attractive but destructive detours.
–Stay out of the ditches. Stay on the road. Stay focused.
–His Word leaves a great taste in our mouths, like that last bite of chocolate cake!

Dear Heavenly Father, I’m listening. I’m pondering reverently. You are God and i am not. I am grateful for the big reveal of Your love for me. Give us this day our daily manna. Then help us live it now.
In Jesus Name, Amen

About randscallawayffm

Randy and Susan co founded Finding Focus Ministries in 2006. Their goal as former full time pastors, is to serve and provide spiritual encouragement and focus to those on the "front lines" of ministry. Extensive experience being on both sides of ministry, paid and volunteer, on the mission fields of other countries as well as the United States, helps them bring a different perspective to those who need it most. Need a lift? Call us 260 229 2276.
This entry was posted in Christian Living, Christian Perspective, Embrace, Encouragement, Faith, heaven, Holy Spirit, Hope, hospitality, insight, Jesus, joy, Leadership, Listen, Macedonian Call, marriage, ministry, Praise, Prayer, Psalms, Salvation, Teaching, Thanksgiving, Training, Transformation, trust in God, Truth, Uncategorized, Unconditional love, waiting on God, wisdom and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

