REMEMBER…

Psalms of Honesty and Truth

Right now, at this moment, I am remembering many past Christmases with our family. I remember gatherings with extended family, all gathered around my grandparents, trees. As we get older, the memories get better because we forget the quarrels and fusses among the cousins and sometimes the adult disagreements and remember only why we gathered…because we loved each other deeply.

Because of that love, I am recalling words Grandpa Lacquement used to say before we opened presents. I recall mom explaining why she bought what she bought or sometimes made for us. I recall Grandma Kellerby’s smiles of joy just because we were there. You might think children miss a lot because of the excitement of Christmas with gifts before them, but as an adult I don’t remember the presents, I remember the precious words of love and hugs of joy. And I celebrate those words this morning. And if I am still, I can almost feel the hugs of those who are in heaven this Christmas.

The Psalmist writes, “Remember what you said to me, your servant-I hang on to these words for dear life! These words hold me up in bad times; yes, your promises rejuvenate me.” God’s Word, spoken by my parents and grandparents and lived out in front of me help me “hang on for dear life” and stand on the promises of God. I hear them singing still in my mind of memories. Thank you, God for Your Word! I live by Your Word and counsel. Thank you for remembering us, redeeming us and welcoming us into your heart because of our repentance.

Psalm 119:49-56, The Message

Remember what you said to me, your servant—
I hang on to these words for dear life!
These words hold me up in bad times;
yes, your promises rejuvenate me.

The insolent ridicule me without mercy,
but I don’t budge from your revelation.
I watch for your ancient landmark words,
and know I’m on the right track.
But when I see the wicked ignore your directions,
I’m beside myself with anger.

I set your instructions to music
and sing them as I walk this pilgrim way.
I meditate on your name all night, God,
treasuring your revelation, O God.
Still, I walk through a rain of derision
because I live by your Word and counsel.

psalm-119-bible

Thank you for the hope expressed in Your Word, dear Lord. Help us to remember Your Word and live it well, in the most excellent way because of Your love in us. In Jesus Name, Amen

And I’m singing…
On Christ the solid rock I stand!…

About randscallawayffm

Randy and Susan co founded Finding Focus Ministries in 2006. Their goal as former full time pastors, is to serve and provide spiritual encouragement and focus to those on the "front lines" of ministry. Extensive experience being on both sides of ministry, paid and volunteer, on the mission fields of other countries as well as the United States, helps them bring a different perspective to those who need it most. Need a lift? Call us 260 229 2276.
This entry was posted in Christian Living, Christian Perspective, Christmas, Encouragement, Faith, heaven, Holy Spirit, Hope, hospitality, insight, Jesus, joy, Leadership, Listen, Macedonian Call, marriage, ministry, Praise, Prayer, Psalms, Salvation, Teaching, Thanksgiving, Training, Transformation, trust in God, Truth, Uncategorized, Unconditional love, waiting on God, wisdom and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

