DIVERT MY EYES FROM TOYS

Psalms of Honesty and Truth

It’s almost Christmas! Trees are up, sugary treats that we don’t eat anytime but this time are being made and consumed. Sugar highs and lows are being experienced by the younger ones. Excitement fills the air like static electricity for what new toy might be hiding in crisp red and green paper. We are not just talking about the kids, either! I have heard that some grownups are hoping for new wireless headphones, a new 3D Oculus, the latest IPhone (which will be obsolete after January 1!) and many other toys and trinkets.

I am smiling at God’s timing. Our next passage in our journey through Psalm 119 says, “divert my eyes from toys and trinkets”. Give me wisdom, insight, counsel, affirm your promises to me, he prays. It stirred my thoughts. What if wisdom could be wrapped up by God and placed under the tree for us to open and have forever? But wisdom is not that kind of a gift. Wisdom is continuous learned skills for living learned by consistently walking with God. Skills are perfected by failing and learning from failing. Ah, new perspective, then for us to consider.

We cry out for wisdom as often as the Psalmists did and other prophets throughout God’s Word, but how is wisdom acquired? Maybe wisdom comes from asking God to help us as we step out in faith to make better decisions with the realization that we might fail. We might be misunderstood and even criticized. We might miss the mark. But we have God’s assurance that He will walk with us and help us learn from the missteps, the wrong turns, and being distracted by “toys and trinkets” along life’s journey.

So ask for wisdom, but know that learning will come with the gift of insight and understanding that is acquired through failing. If we are not failing, we are not trying. We aren’t living abundantly. We are playing it safe but not learning much. The evil one wants us to play it safe. He will also remind us often of our failures so we will miss the lessons we learn from them. So, failing, my friends is a good thing, as long as lessons are learned and we don’t keep making the same mistakes over and over. Stay hungry for God’s counsel! He provides all we need.

Psalm 119: 33-40, The Message

God, teach me lessons for living
so I can stay the course.
Give me insight so I can do what you tell me—
my whole life one long, obedient response.
Guide me down the road of your commandments;
I love traveling this freeway!
Give me a bent for your words of wisdom,
and not for piling up loot.
Divert my eyes from toys and trinkets,
invigorate me on the pilgrim way.
Affirm your promises to me—
promises made to all who fear you.
Deflect the harsh words of my critics—
but what you say is always so good.
See how hungry I am for your counsel;
preserve my life through your righteous ways!

psalm-119-wisdom

Wisdom, skills for living, are acquired as we ask God to help us live life well. So, with this perspective…it IS well with my soul!

In Jesus Name, Amen

About randscallawayffm

Randy and Susan co founded Finding Focus Ministries in 2006. Their goal as former full time pastors, is to serve and provide spiritual encouragement and focus to those on the "front lines" of ministry. Extensive experience being on both sides of ministry, paid and volunteer, on the mission fields of other countries as well as the United States, helps them bring a different perspective to those who need it most. Need a lift? Call us 260 229 2276.
This entry was posted in Christian Living, Christian Perspective, Encouragement, Faith, Holy Spirit, Hope, hospitality, Leadership, Listen, Macedonian Call, marriage, ministry, Praise, Prayer, Psalms, Salvation, Teaching, Thanksgiving, Training, Transformation, trust in God, Truth, Uncategorized, Unconditional love, waiting on God, wisdom and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

