THE ROAD TO SOMEWHERE

Psalms of Honesty and Truth

Admit it. We all have them. We may hide the fact that we have them, but we have them. We may act out by hurting someone else because of them, and that doesn’t help. What are they? Bad days. Days when our thinking is off, out of sinc somehow with the rest of the world…maybe with God just happen. In the next section of Psalm 119, the writer is having a bad day or series of days. He is in despair, heart broken, spirit crushed, asking God to “barricade the road that goes Nowhere”.

Psalm 119: 25-32, The Message

I’m feeling terrible—I couldn’t feel worse!
Get me on my feet again. You promised, remember?
When I told my story, you responded;
train me well in your deep wisdom.
Help me understand these things inside and out
so I can ponder your miracle-wonders.
My sad life’s dilapidated, a falling-down barn;
build me up again by your Word.
Barricade the road that goes Nowhere;
grace me with your clear revelation.
I choose the true road to Somewhere,
I post your road signs at every curve and corner.
I grasp and cling to whatever you tell me;
God, don’t let me down!
I’ll run the course you lay out for me
if you’ll just show me how.

Show me what YOU see and teach me! dear Lord, he cries out. Have you ever thought to ask God for more accurate eyesight? On these bad days which lead to nowhere, do we ask to see more clearly what God sees? Do we stop in the middle of our wallowing to ask God what He wants us to learn from it all? If we rely only on what the world presents to us on a surface level, we will never see the road to Somewhere.

1002132_10153754714990557_433492044_n

The Psalmist final prayer in this section is a good prayer for all of us to stop and pray right now:

“I’ll run the course you lay out for me if you’ll just show me how.”

God will answer an honest, heart felt prayer such as this as we come humbling to our knees with open minds. Oh Lord, help us to really see by looking into your eyes. Give us wisdom to learn our life lessons well on the road to Somewhere.

In Jesus Name, Amen

About randscallawayffm

Randy and Susan co founded Finding Focus Ministries in 2006. Their goal as former full time pastors, is to serve and provide spiritual encouragement and focus to those on the "front lines" of ministry. Extensive experience being on both sides of ministry, paid and volunteer, on the mission fields of other countries as well as the United States, helps them bring a different perspective to those who need it most. Need a lift? Call us 260 229 2276.
This entry was posted in Christian Living, Christian Perspective, Holy Spirit, Hope, insight, Jesus, joy, Leadership, Listen, Macedonian Call, marriage, ministry, Praise, Prayer, Psalms, Salvation, Teaching, Thanksgiving, Training, Transformation, trust in God, Truth, Uncategorized, Unconditional love, waiting on God, wisdom and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

