MY THEME SONG

Psalms of Honesty and Praise

There is a song by Casting Crowns that touches my heart with praise for the One and Only who is everything to me. Part of the lyrics…

Empty hands held high
Such small sacrifice
Now joined with my life
I sing in vain tonight
May the words I say
And the things I do
Make my lifesong sing
Bring a smile to you

Let my lifesong sing to you
Let my lifesong sing to you
I want to sign your name
To the end of this day
Lord led my heart was true
Let my lifesong sing to you

As believers, who pray “God, break my heart of those things that break yours, will see the evil in this world and avoid it more quickly than those who float through life unaware. My theme song is God, His mercy, grace, goodness, kindness, all wrapped in His relentless love for us. David writes his theme song, (lifesong) in much the same way.

Psalm 101, The Message
A David Psalm

1-8 My theme song is God’s love and justice,
and I’m singing it right to you, God.
I’m finding my way down the road of right living,
but how long before you show up?
I’m doing the very best I can,
and I’m doing it at home, where it counts.

I refuse to take a second look
at corrupting people and degrading things.
I reject made-in-Canaan gods,
stay clear of contamination.
The crooked in heart keep their distance;
I refuse to shake hands with those who plan evil.
I put a gag on the gossip
who bad-mouths his neighbor;
I can’t stand arrogance.
But I have my eye on salt-of-the-earth people—
they’re the ones I want working with me;
Men and women on the straight and narrow—
these are the ones I want at my side.

But no one who traffics in lies
gets a job with me; I have no patience with liars.
I’ve rounded up all the wicked like cattle
and herded them right out of the country.
I purged God’s city of all who make a business of evil.

psalm-101-2-3

The back story of David’s lifesong…(by Warren Wiersbe)

When David became king, first in Hebron and then at Jerusalem, he inherited a divided land and a discouraged people whose spiritual life was at low ebb. Asaph described the situation in 78:56-72 and named David as God’s answer to Israel’s problems. Everything rises and falls with leadership, but many of King Saul’s officers were fawning, flattering “toadies” who were unable to work with a man like David.

Once David was established on the throne in Jerusalem, he had a consuming desire to bring the ark of God back to the sanctuary so that God’s throne might be near his throne. His question in verse 2 (nkjv), “When will You come to me?” reflects this desire. The ark had been in the house of Abinidab for many years (1 Sam. 6:1–7:2) and then in the house of Obed-Edom after David’s aborted attempt to relocate it (2 Sam. 6:1-11).

This psalm of dedication was probably written early in his reign in Jerusalem. We could accurately call this psalm “Leadership 101” because in it David spells out the essentials for successful leadership in the work of God; Devotion, Discernment and Decisiveness. This is how great lifesongs are to be sung…and lived.

In Jesus Name, Amen

About randscallawayffm

Randy and Susan co founded Finding Focus Ministries in 2006. Their goal as former full time pastors, is to serve and provide spiritual encouragement and focus to those on the "front lines" of ministry. Extensive experience being on both sides of ministry, paid and volunteer, on the mission fields of other countries as well as the United States, helps them bring a different perspective to those who need it most. Need a lift? Call us 260 229 2276.
This entry was posted in Christian Living, Christian Perspective, Encouragement, Faith, heaven, Holy Spirit, Hope, hospitality, insight, Jesus, joy, Leadership, Listen, Macedonian Call, marriage, ministry, Praise, Prayer, Psalms, Salvation, Teaching, Thanksgiving, Training, Transformation, trust in God, Truth, Uncategorized, Unconditional love, waiting on God, wisdom and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

