QUIET IN THE CLAMOR

Psalms of Honesty and Truth

God is an Almighty God, the Creator of all and knows all. In the quiet of this hour, in my office, reading and meditating on His Word, I hear His whisper to my soul. While it might be fun for some to run with the thundering herd of shoppers seeking the bargain of a lifetime, I am resolved to sit in the quiet for awhile while God works on my heart, mind and soul. (I’m not judging those who are out there, for I was once one of them, shopping or I was the one behind the cash register. I enjoy the “hunt” and the slaying of killer bargains. Just not today.)

In the beginning of this song, the Psalmist today cries out for God to put an end to evil and those who arrogantly promote it in the world. But the middle of the song are words that encourage me today…maybe this will bring hope and encouragement to you, too?

Psalm 94, The Message

12-15 How blessed the man you train, God,
the woman you instruct in your Word,
Providing a circle of quiet within the clamor of evil,
while a jail is being built for the wicked.
God will never walk away from his people,
never desert his precious people.
Rest assured that justice is on its way
and every good heart put right.

16-19 Who stood up for me against the wicked?
Who took my side against evil workers?
If God hadn’t been there for me,
I never would have made it.
The minute I said, “I’m slipping, I’m falling,”
your love, God, took hold and held me fast.
When I was upset and beside myself,
you calmed me down and cheered me up.

I need this work, this discipline by God Himself, to work out His salvation to me…in and through me. It brings me incredible joy to see Him in the details of my life. I see Him around every corner, working on behalf of all who love Him deeply. Discipline is not a bad word, although many, because of school experiences, think only of punishment. That is too bad, for discipline from God brings order in the chaos and peace on the journey. His loving discipline protects us from our own follies, and shows us how much God, Our Father, loves us. If He didn’t care, He wouldn’t teach us. God would just leave us to our own devices to wallow in our own messes.

psalm-94-slipping

“When I fall down, He picks me up” is not just a chorus to sing but it is declarative worship for the One Who not only picks us up, but Who tightly holds us with His grip while calming our souls and encouraging us. “I’ve got you, it’s going to be okay.” are some of the sweetest words God whispers to our heart. Truth.

Dear Heavenly Father,
Thank you for your guidance, your wisdom to live more skillfully, your love that teaches us to love more deeply. Thank you for salvation upon our repentance with the responsibility to live well. We love You with all our hearts, minds and souls. Continue to teach us, but do it gently. I’m listening. In Jesus Name, Amen

About randscallawayffm

Randy and Susan co founded Finding Focus Ministries in 2006. Their goal as former full time pastors, is to serve and provide spiritual encouragement and focus to those on the "front lines" of ministry. Extensive experience being on both sides of ministry, paid and volunteer, on the mission fields of other countries as well as the United States, helps them bring a different perspective to those who need it most. Need a lift? Call us 260 229 2276.
This entry was posted in Christian Living, Christian Perspective, Encouragement, Faith, heaven, Holy Spirit, Hope, hospitality, insight, Jesus, joy, Leadership, Listen, ministry, Praise, Prayer, Psalms, Salvation, Teaching, Thanksgiving, Training, Transformation, trust in God, Truth, Uncategorized, Unconditional love, waiting on God, wisdom and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

