THE SOURCE OF LIFE

Psalms of Honesty and Praise

I grew up in a small church with about a hundred attenders. We only had a piano, sometimes the organ, (if they talked me into playing it), and only one “song leader”. Today, many of you are probably gasping at our obvious lack of resources and wondering about the quality of our worship. As I think back, as I have been doing in this season of mourning the loss of my dad, the last of “elders” in my family, last Christmas, I am evaluating what was compared to what is. I praise God for both! For church is not the source of life, God is. I find and see God in both!

Our next psalm (song) is like a chorus of praise that has been put between the hymns of remembering, repenting and teaching. It is declaring the majesty of God. It is extolling His promises for now and in the future when we all “march to Zion”, the City of God. The previous generations in my family have made the march. I will join them someday soon. All God’s children will be gathered in His Holy Presence and shout and sing to the glory of His Name. We will all be singing with jubilant praises honoring our One and Only Source of Life.

Yes, this is a psalm for then and a promise for later for all believers of God. The psalm must be read on two levels. It is a prophecy of the future kingdom, when all nations will come to Jerusalem to worship, and it is also a picture of the heavenly Zion where the children of God have their spiritual citizenship.

Psalm 87, New Living Translation
A song. A psalm of the descendants of Korah.

1 On the holy mountain
stands the city founded by the Lord.
2 He loves the city of Jerusalem
more than any other city in Israel.[a]
3 O city of God,
what glorious things are said of you! Interlude

4 I will count Egypt[b] and Babylon among those who know me—
also Philistia and Tyre, and even distant Ethiopia.[c]
They have all become citizens of Jerusalem!
5 Regarding Jerusalem[d] it will be said,
“Everyone enjoys the rights of citizenship there.”
And the Most High will personally bless this city.

6 When the Lord registers the nations, he will say,
“They have all become citizens of Jerusalem.” Interlude
7 The people will play flutes[e] and sing,
“The source of my life springs from Jerusalem!”

psalm-87-city-of-god

Dear Heavenly Father, You are my source of my life! You are God and I am not. You made the heavens and the earth. I long to please You and serve You with gladness and enthusiasm because I love you with all that is in me. Continue to comfort me, heal my emotions, allow me to see You at work, and join You there. Above all, may my life reflect Your glory! I praise You from whom all blessings flow! In Jesus Name, Amen

About randscallawayffm

Randy and Susan co founded Finding Focus Ministries in 2006. Their goal as former full time pastors, is to serve and provide spiritual encouragement and focus to those on the "front lines" of ministry. Extensive experience being on both sides of ministry, paid and volunteer, on the mission fields of other countries as well as the United States, helps them bring a different perspective to those who need it most. Need a lift? Call us 260 229 2276.
This entry was posted in Christian Living, Christian Perspective, Encouragement, Faith, heaven, Hebrews, Holy Spirit, Hope, hospitality, insight, Jesus, joy, Leadership, Listen, Macedonian Call, marriage, ministry, Praise, Prayer, Psalms, Salvation, Teaching, Thanksgiving, Training, Transformation, trust in God, Truth, Uncategorized, Unconditional love, waiting on God, wisdom and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

