STROLLING WITH GOD…

Psalms of Honesty and Truth

There is nothing more enjoyable than taking a walk with my grandkids. We have a trail behind our home where we like to walk. You learn a lot from their personalities about how they walk. Some run ahead and I have to call them back. The boys compete with each step, like horses at the gate before a race, ready to break free into a run for the prize. Some just leisurely stroll, falling behind, because they stopped to look at the flowers, the crack in the sidewalk, or an interesting bug in the grass. To keep them all strolling with me is a delightful, interesting and humorous exercise. My main goal is to get them all back home in one piece, unharmed and happy.

Is that what God is trying to accomplish with us? I am amused as I read another psalm about David’s exploits of being hunted down by the enemy, running from his captors, being harassed by leaders, “kicked around, stomped on every day”, as The Message paraphrase begins Psalm 56. But David’s true desire is to come to a place, after the battle to remember God has taken care of him, as He promised, and to “stroll at leisure with God in the sunlit fields of life.”

Isn’t that what we want, too? Isn’t that what God wants? He WILL take care of through it all. When we realize that He was there all the time, we can also say, with David, “Fearless now I trust in God, what can mere mortals do to me?” “…and I’m thanking you with all my heart.”

Read slowly and walk leisurely with God today knowing He will be there by your side or leading you through troubled waters, taking you by the hand as I would a grandchild who is lingering too long to watch a bug, lead you forward, or stop you from running ahead to things that might hurt you. He will even lead us from the edge of disastrous cliffs. Walk with God. Enjoy the walk.

Trust in God…He cares the most for us.

Psalm 56, The Message

1-4 Take my side, God—I’m getting kicked around,
stomped on every day.
Not a day goes by
but somebody beats me up;
They make it their duty
to beat me up.
When I get really afraid
I come to you in trust.
I’m proud to praise God;
fearless now, I trust in God.
What can mere mortals do?

5-6 They don’t let up—
they smear my reputation
and huddle to plot my collapse.
They gang up,
sneak together through the alleys
To take me by surprise,
wait their chance to get me.

7 Pay them back in evil!
Get angry, God!
Down with these people!

8 You’ve kept track of my every toss and turn
through the sleepless nights,
Each tear entered in your ledger,
each ache written in your book.

9 If my enemies run away,
turn tail when I yell at them,
Then I’ll know
that God is on my side.

10-11 I’m proud to praise God,
proud to praise God.
Fearless now, I trust in God;
what can mere mortals do to me?

12-13 God, you did everything you promised,
and I’m thanking you with all my heart.
You pulled me from the brink of death,
my feet from the cliff-edge of doom.
Now I stroll at leisure with God
in the sunlit fields of life.

psalm-56-walk

Dear Heavenly Father,
The Psalms of David and others are blessings of more knowledge of You. Thank you for teaching us of your constant care and deep love for us. May we walk and talk with you with gratitude for who you are and what you have done, are doing and will do on the walk. In Jesus Name, Amen

And I’m singing…

And He walks with me, and He talks with me,
And He tells me I am His own;
And the joy we share as we tarry there,
None other has ever known.

About randscallawayffm

Randy and Susan co founded Finding Focus Ministries in 2006. Their goal as former full time pastors, is to serve and provide spiritual encouragement and focus to those on the "front lines" of ministry. Extensive experience being on both sides of ministry, paid and volunteer, on the mission fields of other countries as well as the United States, helps them bring a different perspective to those who need it most. Need a lift? Call us 260 229 2276.
This entry was posted in Christian Living, Christian Perspective, Encouragement, Faith, heaven, Holy Spirit, Hope, hospitality, insight, Jesus, joy, Leadership, Listen, marriage, ministry, Prayer, Psalms, Romans, Salvation, Teaching, Thanksgiving, Training, Transformation, trust in God, Truth, Uncategorized, Unconditional love, waiting on God, wisdom and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to STROLLING WITH GOD…

  1. Pingback: STROLLING WITH GOD… | Daily Manna with Your Mug

Leave a Reply

