FRESH STARTS, CLEAN HEARTS!

Psalms of Honesty and Truth

There is no better feeling than when a huge problem that has been weighing you down is lifted and thrown away, not to be dealt with again. There is nothing better than a new pair of comfortable tennis shoes that put lift in your steps. When I was a kid, the ad agencies grabbed our attention with “Run faster, jump higher!” with these Flyers. Just the name alone cause a must have attitude resulting in the begging for those special tennis shoes from mom and dad.

Nothing is better than paying of a huge debt with that final payment. You can’t stop smiling. When we move into a new home in a new place, we are giddy with excitement…after all our stuff is moved and put in place. Fresh starts, putting the past behind us is always a good place to be.

How about cleansing our hearts of all the junk of sin we have allowed to come in and clutter our very beings? This unsettledness of our hearts, soiled by sin affects us and all those around us. The sin gives birth to more sin as we try to shelve it, cover it up, and even try to put on a good act of denial. Nathan, a wise prophet in David’s day confronts him about his sin of adultery with Bathsheba. David finally stops the madness of actions to dress up his sin and repents. This Psalm is a result. This song should be sung by all of us…often. There is nothing this world has to offer that will give us fresh starts with clean hearts except repentance to the Perfect One, Jesus Christ, who saves and restores us. Amen?

Psalm 51, The Message (Read it thoroughly in your version of choice…NLT and NIV are good choices!)

1-3 Generous in love—God, give grace!
Huge in mercy—wipe out my bad record.
Scrub away my guilt,
soak out my sins in your laundry.
I know how bad I’ve been;
my sins are staring me down.

4-6 You’re the One I’ve violated, and you’ve seen
it all, seen the full extent of my evil.
You have all the facts before you;
whatever you decide about me is fair.
I’ve been out of step with you for a long time,
in the wrong since before I was born.
What you’re after is truth from the inside out.
Enter me, then; conceive a new, true life.

7-15 Soak me in your laundry and I’ll come out clean,
scrub me and I’ll have a snow-white life.
Tune me in to foot-tapping songs,
set these once-broken bones to dancing.
Don’t look too close for blemishes,
give me a clean bill of health.
God, make a fresh start in me,
shape a Genesis week from the chaos of my life.
Don’t throw me out with the trash,
or fail to breathe holiness in me.
Bring me back from gray exile,
put a fresh wind in my sails!
Give me a job teaching rebels your ways
so the lost can find their way home.
Commute my death sentence, God, my salvation God,
and I’ll sing anthems to your life-giving ways.
Unbutton my lips, dear God;
I’ll let loose with your praise.

16-17 Going through the motions doesn’t please you,
a flawless performance is nothing to you.
I learned God-worship
when my pride was shattered.
Heart-shattered lives ready for love
don’t for a moment escape God’s notice.

18-19 Make Zion the place you delight in,
repair Jerusalem’s broken-down walls.
Then you’ll get real worship from us,
acts of worship small and large,
Including all the bulls
they can heave onto your altar!

psalm-51-10

In Jesus Name, Amen. And I’m singing praise to the One who saves…

Who am I, that the eyes that see my sin
Would look on me with love
And watch me rise again?
Who am I, that the voice that calmed the sea
Would call out through the rain
And calm the storm in me?

Not because of who I am
But because of what you’ve done
Not because of what I’ve done
But because of who you are

Read more: Casting Crowns – Who Am I Lyrics | MetroLyrics

About randscallawayffm

Randy and Susan co founded Finding Focus Ministries in 2006. Their goal as former full time pastors, is to serve and provide spiritual encouragement and focus to those on the "front lines" of ministry. Extensive experience being on both sides of ministry, paid and volunteer, on the mission fields of other countries as well as the United States, helps them bring a different perspective to those who need it most. Need a lift? Call us 260 229 2276.
This entry was posted in Christian Living, Christian Perspective, Encouragement, Faith, heaven, Holy Spirit, Hope, hospitality, insight, Jesus, joy, Leadership, Listen, marriage, ministry, Prayer, Psalms, Romans, Salvation, Teaching, Thanksgiving, Training, Transformation, trust in God, Truth, Uncategorized, Unconditional love, waiting on God, wisdom and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to FRESH STARTS, CLEAN HEARTS!

  1. Pingback: FRESH STARTS, CLEAN HEARTS! | Daily Manna with Your Mug

Leave a Reply

