FROM MESSES TO MESSAGES!

Psalms of Honesty and Truth

In good times and in bad, Job declared God’s praise. David is the same. He goes through tough times, running from someone who is trying to kill him. He makes mistakes but repents and asks God to save him, renew him, restore him. Then his family betrays him and he is on the run again. In the eye of these storms that reek havoc on our souls, God is there. Always. As David puts it, “I yelled for help and you put me together.”

In the following Psalm 30, reading from The Message, these personal soul rendering statements occur:
–I give you all the credit, Yahweh.
–You pulled me out…put me back together
–You gave me a second chance…
–You did it, changed wild lament into whirling dance…
–I can’t keep quiet about you..
–I can’t thank you enough!

David is constantly living life, running to not away from the battles that come, knowing God will help him. He is not afraid to cry out and even yell to God for help. He is quick to praise and honor God above all when He does.

Psalm 30, The Message
A David Psalm

I give you all the credit, God—
you got me out of that mess,
you didn’t let my foes gloat.

2-3 God, my God, I yelled for help
and you put me together.
God, you pulled me out of the grave,
gave me another chance at life
when I was down-and-out.

4-5 All you saints! Sing your hearts out to God!
Thank him to his face!
He gets angry once in a while, but across
a lifetime there is only love.
The nights of crying your eyes out
give way to days of laughter.

6-7 When things were going great
I crowed, “I’ve got it made.
I’m God’s favorite.
He made me king of the mountain.”
Then you looked the other way
and I fell to pieces.

8-10 I called out to you, God;
I laid my case before you:
“Can you sell me for a profit when I’m dead?
auction me off at a cemetery yard sale?
When I’m ‘dust to dust’ my songs
and stories of you won’t sell.
So listen! and be kind!
Help me out of this!”

11-12 You did it: you changed wild lament
into whirling dance;
You ripped off my black mourning band
and decked me with wildflowers.
I’m about to burst with song;
I can’t keep quiet about you.
God, my God,
I can’t thank you enough.

Something to think about…
–David established an intimate relationship with God. This relationship began as a young boy and grew as the years passed.
–When we have a close, dear relationship with someone, we are not afraid to bare all, be honest with our feelings and tell what is on our minds.
–Is my relationship with God as intimate as David’s with Him?
–Am I thanking God enough, praising Him in good times and bad?
–I do love the times of bursting into song about God.
–I cannot keep quiet about Him either.

psalm-30

Dear Heavenly Father, There are just not enough words to thank You for Your continued Presence in our lives even when we don’t take the time to notice and we allow the worries to mount. May we, instead mount up like eagles and fly higher, above all the concerns of this world and see things more from Your perspective. Your thoughts and ways are certainly higher than ours. And that’s why I cannot keep quite about You. I love you with all my heart, mind and soul. In Jesus Name, Amen

About randscallawayffm

Randy and Susan co founded Finding Focus Ministries in 2006. Their goal as former full time pastors, is to serve and provide spiritual encouragement and focus to those on the "front lines" of ministry. Extensive experience being on both sides of ministry, paid and volunteer, on the mission fields of other countries as well as the United States, helps them bring a different perspective to those who need it most. Need a lift? Call us 260 229 2276.
This entry was posted in Christian Living, Christian Perspective, Encouragement, Faith, heaven, Holy Spirit, insight, Jesus, joy, Leadership, Listen, marriage, ministry, Prayer, Psalms, Salvation, Teaching, Thanksgiving, Training, Transformation, Truth, Uncategorized, Unconditional love, wisdom and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to FROM MESSES TO MESSAGES!

  1. Pingback: FROM MESSES TO MESSAGES! | Daily Manna with Your Mug

Leave a Reply

