BUT ME HE CAUGHT!

Psalms of Honesty and Truth

There are days when it seems like the details of your life are tidy and orderly. Your “ducks are in a row” and all is going well. You are accomplishing and growing and then it happens. One by one, all those “things” of this life begin to fall apart. Like chickens who found a hole in the fence and begin to leave the pen, you try as you might to gather the hens, and they run as you run, making it impossible to put them all back in their place.

Worse than that, life is running smoothly and then you get a diagnosis from a doctor that you were not expecting would ever happen to you…or a family member. You live a “new normal”.

Maybe it is a relationship that you thought was secure and suddenly you find out it is indeed falling apart. Hate replaces love. Calm is replaced with chaos. You wonder what went wrong.

The enemy has only a few tools and very little power, but he knows how to get to us, using the same methods over and over again. He will make us feel unworthy, unappreciated, undone and unloved when chaos ensues and life seems to fall apart. All the opposites of what God really thinks of us and desires for us. Watch for it…it happens often. And when it does, like my new favorite songs reads…Just Be Held. Be “caught” by God, loved by Him, redeemed and free.

Just be Held..By Casting Crowns
Hold it all together
Everybody needs you strong
But life hits you out of nowhere
And barely leaves you holding on

And when you’re tired of fighting
Chained by your control
There’s freedom in surrender
Lay it down and let it go

So when you’re on your knees and answers seem so far away
You’re not alone, stop holding on and just be held
Your world’s not falling apart, it’s falling into place
I’m on the throne, stop holding on and just be held
Just be held, just be held

David is saying pretty much the same thing in the next passage of Psalm 18…
“But me he caught–reached all the way from sky to sea; he pulled me out of that ocean of hate, that enemy chaos, the void in which I was drowning.”

Psalm 18, The Message

7-15
Earth wobbles and lurches;
huge mountains shake like leaves,
Quake like aspen leaves
because of his rage.
His nostrils flare, bellowing smoke;
his mouth spits fire.
Tongues of fire dart in and out;
he lowers the sky.
He steps down;
under his feet an abyss opens up.
He’s riding a winged creature,
swift on wind-wings.
Now he’s wrapped himself
in a trenchcoat of black-cloud darkness.
But his cloud-brightness bursts through,
spraying hailstones and fireballs.
Then God thundered out of heaven;
the High God gave a great shout,
spraying hailstones and fireballs.
God shoots his arrows—pandemonium!
He hurls his lightnings—a rout!
The secret sources of ocean are exposed,
the hidden depths of earth lie uncovered
The moment you roar in protest,
let loose your hurricane anger.

16-19 But me he caught—reached all the way
from sky to sea; he pulled me out
Of that ocean of hate, that enemy chaos,
the void in which I was drowning.
They hit me when I was down,
but God stuck by me.
He stood me up on a wide-open field;
I stood there saved—surprised to be loved!

Psalm 18

Pause to take it in and take all the time you need…You are loved! You are His creation. God wants the best for you. God brings order to chaos. David continues his praise of the character and love of our Father in Heaven…

20-24 God made my life complete
when I placed all the pieces before him.
When I got my act together,
he gave me a fresh start.
Now I’m alert to God’s ways;
I don’t take God for granted.
Every day I review the ways he works;
I try not to miss a trick.
I feel put back together,
and I’m watching my step.
God rewrote the text of my life
when I opened the book of my heart to his eyes.

Dear Heavenly Father, Thank you.
In Jesus Name, Amen

About randscallawayffm

Randy and Susan co founded Finding Focus Ministries in 2006. Their goal as former full time pastors, is to serve and provide spiritual encouragement and focus to those on the "front lines" of ministry. Extensive experience being on both sides of ministry, paid and volunteer, on the mission fields of other countries as well as the United States, helps them bring a different perspective to those who need it most. Need a lift? Call us 260 229 2276.
This entry was posted in Christian Living, Christian Perspective, Encouragement, Faith, heaven, Holy Spirit, insight, Jesus, joy, Leadership, Listen, ministry, Prayer, Psalms, Salvation, Teaching, Training, Transformation, Truth, Uncategorized, Unconditional love, wisdom and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

