DON’T WALK OUT ON GOD

1, 2, &3 John – God and Love

There was a saying long ago that has been used on many church signs, but it still holds meaning if you stop to really think about it. “If you feel far away from God’s presence, then guess who moved.” It wasn’t GOD! He was there all the time. He is here now. Come into His presence with repentance, thanksgiving and praise and He is there! It is we who move away from Him as we decide that we know more than God. This, my friends, is a bad place to reside.

John reminds God’s church, “don’t walk out on God.”

2 John, The Message
Don’t Walk Out on God
7 There are a lot of smooth-talking charlatans loose in the world who refuse to believe that Jesus Christ was truly human, a flesh-and-blood human being. Give them their true title: Deceiver! Antichrist!

8-9 And be very careful around them so you don’t lose out on what we’ve worked so diligently in together; I want you to get every reward you have coming to you. Anyone who gets so progressive in his thinking that he walks out on the teaching of Christ, walks out on God. But whoever stays with the teaching, stays faithful to both the Father and the Son.

10-11 If anyone shows up who doesn’t hold to this teaching, don’t invite him in and give him the run of the place. That would just give him a platform to perpetuate his evil ways, making you his partner.

12-13 I have a lot more things to tell you, but I’d rather not use paper and ink. I hope to be there soon in person and have a heart-to-heart talk. That will be far more satisfying to both you and me. Everyone here in your sister congregation sends greetings.

What do we learn?
–Stick with the pure teaching of Christ.
–Staying with the teaching of Christ keeps us faithful, close to God.
–Don’t let anyone who doesn’t believe in the teachings of Christ have the run of your heart, God’s church or your family.

I offer my life

Dear Heavenly Father,
We are dismayed by those who claim You are distant and not aware of what is going on in our homes, families, nation and the world you created. You are there! You know it all. But we think we know more at times and that is dangerous and stupid on our part. We repent of those times when we think that, even for a moment. We pray for our loved ones who have walked out on you, only to wail, You left them! It is not in Your nature to leave us. Thank you. Help us to love and behave more and more like You taught us to when you walked this earth, going through more than we could ever imagine so that we would be saved. Thank you, Lord. We know you are there and understand…and care deeply.
We pray, In Jesus Name, Amen

And we sing…

“(Psalm 139) You Are There”

You have searched me and you know me
You’re familiar with all my ways

You have placed your hand upon me
With such a knowledge I can’t attain

Where can I go from your Spirit?
Where can I flee from your presence?

If I make my bed in the depths
If I go up to the heavens

You are there

If I rise on the wings of the dawn
If I settle on the far side of the sea

Even there your hand will hold me fast
Even there your hand will guide me

You are there
You are there

You have searched me and you know me
You’re familiar with all my ways

You have placed your hand upon me
With such a knowledge I can’t attain

Where can I go from your Spirit?
Where can I flee from your presence?

If I make my bed in the depths
If I go up to the heavens

You are there

If I rise on the wings of the dawn
If I settle on the far side of the sea

Even there your hand will hold me fast
Even there your hand will guide me

You are there

I will sing
Sing a new song
Because you love me

(Mercy Me)

About randscallawayffm

Randy and Susan co founded Finding Focus Ministries in 2006. Their goal as former full time pastors, is to serve and provide spiritual encouragement and focus to those on the "front lines" of ministry. Extensive experience being on both sides of ministry, paid and volunteer, on the mission fields of other countries as well as the United States, helps them bring a different perspective to those who need it most. Need a lift? Call us 260 229 2276.
This entry was posted in Christian Living, Christian Perspective, Encouragement, Faith, heaven, Holy Spirit, hospitality, insight, Jesus, joy, Leadership, Listen, marriage, ministry, Prayer, Salvation, Teaching, Training, Transformation, Truth, Uncategorized, Unconditional love, wisdom and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to DON’T WALK OUT ON GOD

  1. Pingback: DON’T WALK OUT ON GOD | Daily Manna with Your Mug

Leave a Reply

