THE CENTERPIECE

Taking a Hike Through Hebrews…

We set our table with something beautiful in the center, especially for guests. My mom did it. Her mom did it. The centerpiece can be simple or simply elegant, but there it is…right in the center of our gathering table.

We set our furniture around another centerpiece…the TV. In most living rooms our “good, relaxing chairs” are positioned to see the television in the best possible light. It is the centerpiece of our relaxing after a hard day at work. I do it, too. But I have to ask myself, Who/What is central to my very existence?

Paul reminds us in Hebrews of the Centerpiece Who is at the center of everything, (whether we believe it or not, Truth just is). He tells us all to “take a hard look at Jesus.” As I read this my thoughts center on what the Holy Spirit has been prompting me to be lately…to be AWARE that God is Present in my life ALL the time, not just when I notice. Now, I need to add to that admonition and encouragement…take hold and cling to the Truth that Jesus is the CENTER of everything. Jesus is the center of all we believe. He is the beginning of our faith and He wraps up our faith in the end with Who He is and what He will do. Jesus will be coming back, you know. He is and will be the central focus of who goes with Him and who does not. He is the I AM.

Drink deeply from the Well of this short passage and meditate with me as this strengthens and empowers our faith, giving us bold confidence concerning the centrality of Jesus Christ, Who is and is to come!

Hebrews 3, The Message

The Centerpiece of All We Believe
3 1-6 So, my dear Christian friends, companions in following this call to the heights, take a good hard look at Jesus. He’s the centerpiece of everything we believe, faithful in everything God gave him to do. Moses was also faithful, but Jesus gets far more honor. A builder is more valuable than a building any day. Every house has a builder, but the Builder behind them all is God. Moses did a good job in God’s house, but it was all servant work, getting things ready for what was to come. Christ as Son is in charge of the house.

6-11 Now, if we can only keep a firm grip on this bold confidence, we’re the house!

1555519_10152153197268903_1932343038_n

Dear Heavenly Father, You are in this very room as we pray and study Your Word for us today. Your Presence is overwhelming me with love, mercy and grace. Your Son is our centerpiece and the Centerpiece of everything. Help us to live confidently and boldly, as we declare the Truth in the Person of Jesus Christ! I know Whom I have believed! I know Who is head of my house/me! Thank you, Holy Spirit for helping us to get a tight grip on our belief without letting go. Jesus, BE the center of my life. In Your Name, we pray, Amen

About randscallawayffm

Randy and Susan co founded Finding Focus Ministries in 2006. Their goal as former full time pastors, is to serve and provide spiritual encouragement and focus to those on the "front lines" of ministry. Extensive experience being on both sides of ministry, paid and volunteer, on the mission fields of other countries as well as the United States, helps them bring a different perspective to those who need it most. Need a lift? Call us 260 229 2276.
This entry was posted in Christian Living, Christian Perspective, Corinthians, Encouragement, Faith, heaven, Holy Spirit, hospitality, insight, Jesus, joy, Leadership, Listen, Macedonian Call, marriage, ministry, Prayer, Salvation, Teaching, Training, Transformation, Truth, Uncategorized, Unconditional love, wisdom and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

