OUR PRAYER, OUR MISSION

Colossians – How to…

Our minds race to a million places when faced with an opportunity to stand up for Jesus, say something about Him in ways that express our love for Him. We wonder what will be right and helpful to the person in front of us. Will I be rejected? Oh wait, that’s not important. I need to say something, but where do I begin to tell what Jesus has done for me? Are they ready to hear it, Lord? Give me a sign. Oh wait, maybe the sign is that they are standing here right in front of me, with a questioning look on their face. Ok, Lord, you promised you would give me the words. Here goes…

I cant’ be the only one who has been through this scenario. What I have discovered is this…I don’t have to know everything but I do need to be prepared to make the most of every opportunity God gives me. How do I prepare? Paul helps us. He has already told us to be alert. We already know that we can only take a person as far into God’s Word as we have been ourselves. So we prepare for these opportunities by knowing God, knowing His Word, and then working to express in simple ways what we understand to others.

Relax, we won’t know it all. We don’t have to explain what we don’t know, we just tell what we do know about God and what His Son, Jesus as done for us. God’s Holy Spirit does the rest. It’s like what the blind man said to the “church” when made to see by Jesus, “All I know is, I was blind and now I see.”

ALL of this is wrapped up in prayer; prayer before the encounter, prayer during the message of hope to another, and prayer for courage to open our mouths with simple, understandable words.

Paul’s prayer…The Three Open Prayer

Colossians 4:2-6, The Message
Pray for Open Doors
2-4 Pray diligently. Stay alert, with your eyes wide open in gratitude. Don’t forget to pray for us, that God will open doors for telling the mystery of Christ, even while I’m locked up in this jail. Pray that every time I open my mouth I’ll be able to make Christ plain as day to them.

5-6 Use your heads as you live and work among outsiders. Don’t miss a trick. Make the most of every opportunity. Be gracious in your speech. The goal is to bring out the best in others in a conversation, not put them down, not cut them out.

What do we learn to prayer for?
1. Open my heart to be alert and ready.
2. Open the doors of other’s hearts be ready to receive.
3. Open my mouth…with words of clarity and understanding.

–Make the most of every opportunity. Be gracious. Bring out the best in others.

Colossians 4

Dear Heavenly Father, You teach us well through Your Word. We pray these exact words..in Jesus Name, Amen.

About randscallawayffm

Randy and Susan co founded Finding Focus Ministries in 2006. Their goal as former full time pastors, is to serve and provide spiritual encouragement and focus to those on the "front lines" of ministry. Extensive experience being on both sides of ministry, paid and volunteer, on the mission fields of other countries as well as the United States, helps them bring a different perspective to those who need it most. Need a lift? Call us 260 229 2276.
This entry was posted in ACTS, Christian Living, Christian Perspective, Corinthians, Encouragement, Faith, heaven, Holy Spirit, hospitality, insight, Jesus, joy, Leadership, Macedonian Call, marriage, ministry, Prayer, Romans, Salvation, Teaching, Training, Truth, Uncategorized, Unconditional love, wisdom and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to OUR PRAYER, OUR MISSION

  1. Pingback: OUR PRAYER, OUR MISSION | Daily Manna with Your Mug

Leave a Reply

