CHEERFULLY EXPECTANT!

Romans–Passionate Christian Theology

“Be alert servants of the Master, cheerfully expectant.”
Romans 12, The Message

I had four full days off for the Thanksgiving holiday. Today I’m back to my regular routine of getting up early, preparing my mind for another day of teaching and all the prep that goes with my work. The coffee mug is more than half empty, so my mind is becoming more alert to the day ahead. I now look to my Master. I feel His Presence as I read His Word. I realize, once again, I will need Him for every hour of this Monday, this new day, this day of expectation of what might not be “normal”, so I will not be thrown off when something unexpected happens. I smile at the thought.

Be alert servants of our Master, Paul proclaims in his letter to the Romans. As believing followers of Jesus Christ, our Master, means we live and work in His court. We look for his nod, for the wave of His hand, and most of all, we focus on His eyes that tell us when to move, to serve, to help and when to be still and wait.

Paul adds…be cheerfully expectant! If we serve eagerly because of our pure love for Jesus and focus of ways to please Him and not the world, then being cheerfully expectant comes rather easy. But we must focus. The expected task might overwhelm us, but these circumstances are used to grow and transform us. Expect it. Cheerfully expect it. And it will happen. We might not know what “it” is for today. But we know our Master knows and we also know He wants the best for us.

And I’m singing…”He gave His life, what more could He give…Oh, how He loves you. Oh, how He loves me. Oh, how He loves you and me.”

Be alert to the Master’s call, cheerfully expectant? YES, I’ll have a cup of that! It’s the least I can do for my Master who gave His life for me.

1907720_10154464966875010_5233257186021133546_n

Dear Heavenly Father, Your Word is so profound in Paul’s letter we can only take one sentence of thought at a time. Simple, yet profound. The world tries to complicate who You are and what You have done and are doing in our lives, when it is us believing and following Your call that give us peace and contentment. I am looking, listening and cheerfully expectant for what You will do with THIS day that You have given. We will rejoice and be glad in it, too! In Jesus Name, Amen

About randscallawayffm

Randy and Susan co founded Finding Focus Ministries in 2006. Their goal as former full time pastors, is to serve and provide spiritual encouragement and focus to those on the "front lines" of ministry. Extensive experience being on both sides of ministry, paid and volunteer, on the mission fields of other countries as well as the United States, helps them bring a different perspective to those who need it most. Need a lift? Call us 260 229 2276.
This entry was posted in Christian Living, Christian Perspective, Encouragement, Faith, Holy Spirit, insight, Jesus, joy, Leadership, ministry, Prayer, Romans, Salvation, Teaching, Training, Truth, Unconditional love, wisdom and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to CHEERFULLY EXPECTANT!

  1. Pingback: CHEERFULLY EXPECTANT! | Daily Manna with Your Mug

Leave a Reply

